Marijuana Decriminalization in Maryland

Effective October 1, 2014 the possession of small amounts of Marijuana has been decriminalized.  If you are in possession of less than 10 grams, then you will receive a Civil Citation, instead of a Criminal Statement of Charges.  First offenders face a $100.00 fine;  second offenders are subject to a $250.00, which increases to $500.00 for a third offense.

The Maryland legislature opted not to legalize possession this past session.   However,  legalization and the creation  of  a system for  dispensing of medical marijuana are issues that will face our House and Senate in the near future.

~ GWEBLaw

Image Credit: Cannibus Culture

By | 2016-12-13T09:13:36+00:00 November 20th, 2014|Maryland Laws|0 Comments

Leave A Comment